Better late than never: Nevada Interactive Media Summit mini-cap

25 Mar

I attended the Nevada Interactive Media Summit for the first time oh, almost three weeks ago, and I’m just now getting around to posting something. I picked up lots of new sites/applications to try, although I realize that may not be everyone’s cup of tea for learning from an all-day event. (In fact, another attendee made a complaint to that effect.) I’ll be interested to see how this event morphs going forward to meet the needs of its audience. It was great to meet Eric and Ashley Jennings of Loopshot, since I had just admired their custom CMS work for the Nevada Museum of Art via a Brad Bartlett presentation at an AIGA Reno Tahoe meeting. Love how the NMA site’s entire color scheme changes as a function of the temperature gauge in the upper-left-hand corner!
[tweetmeme source=”KateEGrey” http://www.URL.com%5D

One of the richest app-heavy presentations at NIM was from Colin Loretz and Annie Vranizan. I’m always looking for a better to-do list — due to my switch to Android, I still mourn the loss of my Palm Date Book Plus calendar with floating events. I’m eager to try TeuxDeux (OK, the cutesy name got me) and Ta-Da List, among others. RescueTime is amusing — it tracks what software and web sites you’re using and how much so you can cut out the time sucks. Uh-oh!

More from Colin and Annie:  50 Apps to Fuel Your Online Business

Bryan Landaburu was also heavy on app recommendations. Amazing — there are now low-end options for heat maps, such as Crazy Egg and AttentionWizard. See his subheads on Testing and Analytics for more: Modern Marketing, Simplified from Nevada Interactive Media Conference 2010
2 Responses to “Better late than never: Nevada Interactive Media Summit mini-cap”

  1. bryan landaburu March 25, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Thanks for the mention in your post on the Nevada Interactive Media event Kate. I appreciate you sitting in on my presentation. Since I am also a board member, i want to make sure you know that we take the responses and suggestions from the attendees very seriously as we consider programming changes for each years event.

    I predict that the 2011 event will be even bigger. More details on that to come.

    Thanks again!

    Bryan

  2. Annie Vranizan March 25, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    Thank you for the kind words, I am glad you learned something new. Colin and I were surprised when we started this presentation as to how many applications and tools we use everyday. We thought they could be of some value to a broader audience. I published a detailed breakdown of all the tools here: http://www.annievranizan.com/2010/03/50-apps-to-fuel-your-business/

    I think Nevada Interactive Media has a huge potential to grow from both an attendee perspective and the material, information to be taught.

Leave a Reply

